AISD School Safety and Security Committee (SSSC) Summary of Open Meeting Notes Date: 09/17/24

Members Attendance

David Simon, Zachary Reagan, Fuerza Linda Kitcher, Alana Bejarano, Adam Aniol, John Harris, Brandy Gratten, Dr. Melvin Bedford, Arati Singh, Chief Sneed, Robin Wiatrek, Jacob Reach, Matias Segura, Kevin Foster

Others in Attendance

Raechel French, Joshua Jeon (for Matias Segura), Cristina Nguyen (for Ali Ghilarducci)

PROCEEDINGS

Preliminaries

- The open meeting was started by Arati Singh at 5:35 pm.
- Public Comments-
 - Parents appreciate all the work the district and the committee do to keep students safe during the challenging start of the school year(Fuerza Linda).
- Welcome (Dr. Bedford)-
 - David Simon—In each committee meeting, we will discuss what we each want to discuss, such as concerns, changes, etc. Each committee member will fill out a sticky note and turn it into David Simon.
- Membership Information (David Simon)
 - Overview of positions available in the committee (2 parent positions, 2 AISD teachers, 1 AISD Principal, and one AISD Student position).
 - Will be working with TLL and the vertical team to find and fill the positions listed above.
 - Push to send a link to the application to anyone who might be interested. David Simon will send the link to all members.
- Prop A (Trustee Singh)-
 - Discuss what Prop A is and what it consists of.
- School Safety Hearing (HB3) from 88th Legislature (Dr. Reach)
 - o 09/18/24 at 10:00 am.
 - Accepting public comments (in person and virtually)
 - Texas Senate School Safety Committee- Go to the website to leave feedback and comments.
 - o Conversations around the budget needed for the mandate.
 - Moved to Executive Session at 5:58 pm by Arathi Singh

Public

• No public comment

Conclusion

• Future Agenda Items- None

- David Simon collected sticky notes from members for suggestions for future agenda items as discussed in the beginning of the meeting.
- Next meeting will be hosted on October 22, 2024 via Zoom.
- The open session was closed at 7:27pm.
 - o Motion by Chief Sneed and seconded by Adam Aniol (motion passes unanimously).