# Austin Independent School District Equity Advisory Committee (EAC) Meeting Minutes April 9, 2024

The AISD Equity Advisory Committee met virtually and in person on April 9, 2024 to consider, discuss, and take action on the items listed in the agenda below. These meeting minutes are supplemented by the meeting materials and video recording, and are accessible on the <u>EAC website</u>.

### ATTENDANCE

EAC Members

- Amanda Stocks Amy Moore Andrea McIllwain Cristina Torres Felipe Trimino
- Gail Maduro-Johnson Gloria Cortez Kara Schultz Jennifer Graf Leyla Olano
- Mary Selby Michael Hartsfield Paul Kretchmer Sachi Edson Vanessa Santamaria-Dainton

#### Community Members/AISD Staff

Ali Ghilarducci De'Aja Jackson Diana Trimino Farid Razavi Heaven Combs Helen Dailey Joy Diaz Natalie Hulsey Odera Anyasinti Raina Gradford Rama Session Dr. Stephanie Hawley Sundal Ali

# 1. Welcome Meeting to Order/EAC Logistics

**1.1.** Meeting is called to order at 5:35 pm by EAC Co-Chair Vanessa Santamaria-Dainton. Farid Razavi shares the process for Spanish language access during the EAC meeting and reminder for EAC protocols and procedures.

### 2. Approval of Meeting Minutes

**2.1.** Sachi Edson asks for committee approval for February and March 2024 EAC meeting minutes at 5:38 pm. With quorum, the committee voted to approve meeting minutes.

#### 3. Public Comment

**3.1.** There are no public comments.

# 4. Student Spotlight: Crockett High School Black Student Alliance (BSA)

**4.1.** Raina Gradford presents and shares experiences on the Black Student Alliance at Crockett Early College High Schools. De'Aja Jackson, Heaven Combs, and Rama Session discuss their student experiences with the BSA at 5:45 pm.

# 5. LRP Update: Department of Communications and Community Engagement

**5.1.** Ali Ghilarducci and Joy Diaz provide an update on department LRP goals and strategies at 6:27 pm.

# 6. Committee Discussion - EAC SY 24-25 Topics

**6.1** Committee discussion what topics they would like the EAC to focus on for the following school year 2024-25 at 7:01 pm.

# 7. Optimistic Closure and Adjournment

**7.1.** Farid Razavi facilitates an optimistic closure and adjourns the meeting at 7:28 pm.